Zinging Through…

“I want to live simply. I want to sit by the window when it rains and read books I’ll never be tested on. I want to paint because I want to, not because I’ve got something to prove. I want to listen to my body, fall asleep when the moon is high and wake up slowly, with no place to rush off to. I want not to be governed by money or clocks or any of the artificial restraints that humanity imposes on itself. I just want to be…boundless and infinite.”

The world we live in today, we are all busy. Busy hurrying from one thing to the next; zinging about like busy worker ants from one place to the next. How many times do we stop and appreciate moments, situations, or even people? How many times a day are you mindful and present of where you are? Or are you thinking about the next thing that needs to be done?  This is something I am 100% guilty of and it definitely takes a conscious choice if you are willing to learn.

When is the last time you felt the rain instead of being inconvenienced by it? Do you even know or remember what the rain actually smells like? Chances are you probably can’t remember the last time you stopped and enjoyed the rain or jumped in a puddle. Which may I add, is one of my kids favorite traditions here in our house on rainy days; we always look for the best one (not always the biggest) and jump right in! They will dry!

When is the last time we were not governed by money or clocks? Now that is a big one! I mean come on, who can really experience that! Not the average person -but wow wouldn’t that be nice! One day… The demand the clock puts on us is incredibly deranged. We spend more time looking at clocks then we do at people, our own family sometimes. “The days are long, but the years are short” always gets me. Time passes us by if we like it or not. Kids continue growing whether we like it or not. We need to make the choice to be present in our lives before we wake up one day and life has just passed us by.

That is an radical example but the premise couldn’t be more accurate. Life was given to us to LIVE not just to hurry about. Life was given to us to experience and feel, not to just get through or to zing about too quickly not appreciating moments.

This is my journey to experience life not just live it. This is my accountability to feel life and to be present and mindful of it. I am glad that you are joining me along for the ride!

 

7 thoughts on “Zinging Through…

Leave a Reply

