The boxes we live in

6.3 million  Americans have been diagnosed with some form of phobia. Those are just diagnosed cases not addressing the millions of people who live with fears no one even begins to speak of!

How many of us have fears we never even talk about? How many of those fears live in a dark place inside of us that we never bring to light? How many of us, as President Teddy Roosevelt once eloquently illustrated, simply fear fear itself? 

Fear can be scary, horrifying, downright debilitating for some.Fear can keep us up at night, make us sweat, shake, and our pulse race.  According to Webster’s Dictionary fear is defined as: “an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat” Unpleasant is to say the least! 

I have spoken with many people who have fears that stop them from living life to its fullest. Even I am at fault of this. With the background I have, I have many fears that I am just now working on and am ready to face or even realize they existed. 

mountain-298999_1280-crop-fear-quote

Just to mention a few. First, I have a fear of death. Since my dad passed away when I was younger, this has been a huge fear of mine especially now that I have children. This is one that has shaped many situations and decisions in my life. But as I have mentioned in previous blogs, I recently watched my grandma pass away.  Being this was a fear of mine, this was a huge step for me but one that I would not trade for anything in this world. Watching her pass showed me to  the most of the life You were given and when it’s your time to go, people will sit around and remember the life you lived. They will have nothing to talk about if you don’t face life…fears included. 

Second, I have a fear of flying. Not the actual being on the plane, rather the fact that I cannot get off the plane!! I know, crazy! (but that is what fear is) Again, I have had to recently face this. And I will be the first to tell you this is not an easy thing by any means but I faced it – you have to face them.

You have to take the steps to face the fears you have. If you don’t you are placing yourself into a box. You are not living life to the fullest. You are not living the life you are meant to live. Simple as that! There are a thousand quotes about this and I can go on and on, but only one I came across a few years ago has helped me get to the point of addressing these fears and limits I have unconsciously placed on myself.

life-begins1

This quote fell into my lap a few years ago when my anxiety and fear was at its worse and it couldn’t have came to me at a better time. I have countlessly reminded myself of what I want to be, who I want to be, where I want to be, and sometimes I have to consciously make the choice to get up and face things. Things that make me uncomfortable. Things I don’t want to face but will make me a better person in the end. What fears are you facing? What steps can you take to explore outside of your box?  Who do you want to be? Don’t limit yourself! Live outside of your box! Live the life you were meant to live – without the restrictions of fear.

 

One thought on “The boxes we live in

Leave a Reply

